2011 Rasmuson Foundation Sabbatical Recipients Announced

The Anchorage-based Rasmuson Foundation has announced the selection of seven nonprofit leaders in Alaska for its 2011 Sabbatical Program.

The program aims to keep top leaders in the nonprofit sector by enabling them to step away from their jobs for three to six months of rest, reflection, and rejuvenation. This year's awardees are Fairbanks Resource Agency executive director Emily Ennis; Volunteers of America Alaska president and CEO Elaine Dahlgren; Valley Community for Recycling Solutions executive director Mollie Boyer; Juneau Family Health and Birth Center founder and executive director Kaye Kanne; Tetlin Village Council tribal administrator Kristie Young; Matanuska Community Health Care (The Children's Place) executive director Jennifer Burkmire; and Raven Radio Foundation general manager and CEO Ken Fate.

"[The] Rasmuson Foundation believes that healthy nonprofit leaders are crucial to Alaska. Some of these executives lead organizations that deal daily with crisis," said program officer Sammye Pokryfki. "And all of them work in environments where the need is great but human and financial resources are thin. As a result, these leaders frequently experience emotional and physical effects from their jobs."

"2011 Sabbatical Recipients Announced." Rasmuson Foundation Press Release 01/03/2011.